skip to content
Smith Moore Leatherwood Attorneys Honored As North Carolina

Smith Moore Leatherwood Attorneys Honored As North Carolina 'Super Lawyers'

‘Rising Stars' in firm also recognized

January 21, 2015

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Twenty-eight attorneys from Smith Moore Leatherwood have been honored by North Carolina Super Lawyers magazine as top attorneys in 2015. Ten additional attorneys have been honored as North Carolina Rising Stars of 2015. Less than five percent of lawyers in the state are selected to the exclusive list of Super Lawyers and less than 2.5 percent are named Rising Stars.

In addition to being selected to 2015 Super Lawyers, Patricia Markus, Maureen Demarest Murray, Patti Ramseur and Elizabeth Brooks Scherer were recognized as four of the top 50 women honored as North Carolina Super Lawyers.

Super Lawyers is an independent lawyer rating service that selects attorneys using a rigorous, multiphase rating process. Through peer nominations, evaluations and third party research, exceptional attorneys are selected within each state. Rising Stars are selected by peer nominations of attorneys who are 40 years old or younger, or have 10 years or less of legal experience.

The Smith Moore Leatherwood attorneys honored as 2015 North Carolina Super Lawyers are:

  • D. Erik Albright (General Litigation)
  • E. Kent Auberry (Business/Corporate)
  • Brian Byrd (Real Estate)
  • Lynn Chandler (Estate & Trust Litigation)
  • Richard Coughlin (Intellectual Property Litigation)
  • Julianna Theall Earp (Employment & Labor)
  • Mark Finkelstein (Business Litigation)
  • Terrill Harris (Health Care)
  • Brett Hanna (Real Estate)
  • Jonathan Heyl (Business Litigation)
  • Gregory Holland (Antitrust Litigation)
  • Neale Johnson (Real Estate)
  • Robert Marcus (Business Litigation)
  • Patricia Markus (Health Care)
  • Alexander Maultsby (Employment & Labor)
  • Charles Melvin Jr. (Real Estate)
  • Maureen Demarest Murray (Health Care)
  • George (Jerry) Oliver (Employment & Labor)
  • Patti Ramseur (Employment & Labor)
  • Bradley Risinger (General Litigation)
  • Elizabeth Brooks Scherer (Appellate)
  • Larry Sitton (Business Litigation)
  • D. Clark Smith Jr. (Personal Injury Defense: Medical)
  • Samuel Southern (Health Care)
  • Garrett Walker (Real Estate)
  • Jeri Whitfield (Workers' Compensation)
  • Robert Wilson Jr. (Health Care)
  • Fred Wood Jr. (Business Litigation)

The Smith Moore Leatherwood attorneys honored as North Carolina's 2015 Rising Stars are:

  • Carrie Hanger (Health Care)
  • Patrick Kane (Civil Litigation Defense)
  • C. Bailey King Jr. (Business Litigation)
  • Matthew Leerberg (Business Litigation)
  • Timothy Lendino (Business Litigation)
  • Tanya Oesterreich (Estate Planning & Probate)
  • Antonia Peck (Health Care)
  • Jill Raspet (Estate Planning & Probate)
  • Eric Snider (Business Litigation)
  • John Zimmer (Intellectual Property)

For additional information on Super Lawyers, visit

For more information, contact:
Heather Olson (


Each of our lawyer's e-mail address is provided with his or her biography. If you are not a current client of our firm, you should not e-mail our lawyers with any confidential information or any information about a specific legal matter, given that our firm may presently represent persons or companies who have interests that are adverse to you. If you are not a current client and you e-mail any lawyer in our firm, you do so without any expectation of confidentiality. We will not establish a professional relationship with you via e-mail. Instead, you should contact our firm by telephone so that we can determine whether we are in a position to consult with you about any legal matters before you share any confidential or sensitive information with us.