skip to content
Twenty-Three Smith Moore Leatherwood Attorneys Selected As 2014 North Carolina Legal Elite

Twenty-Three Smith Moore Leatherwood Attorneys Selected As 2014 North Carolina Legal Elite

January 15, 2014

Charlotte, N.C. — Twenty-three attorneys from Smith Moore Leatherwood have been selected by their peers as part of Business North Carolina's 2014 Legal Elite. The Legal Elite awards are categorized into 14 legal- and business-related categories and are voted on by attorneys across the state.

Business North Carolina magazine's Legal Elite is compiled annually based upon a poll of North Carolina attorneys. The attorneys selected are considered by their peers to be the best practitioners in their respective fields. Attorneys in each of Smith Moore Leatherwood's four North Carolina offices were recognized as Legal Elite.

Since 2004, six Smith Moore Leatherwood attorneys have been elevated into the Hall of Fame after receiving the most votes in their respective categories.

The Smith Moore Leatherwood attorneys honored as North Carolina Legal Elite are:


  • Robert R. Marcus, Litigation
  • Jonathan Heyl, Antitrust (Hall of Fame)


  • Alexander L. Maultsby, Employment
  • Amy S. Klass, Tax and Estate Planning
  • Brian W. Byrd, Real Estate
  • Bruce Ashley, Construction
  • D. Erik Albright, Litigation
  • E. Kent Auberry, Business
  • Gregory Gerald Holland, Antitrust
  • Jonathan A. Berkelhammer, Litigation
  • Julianna T. Earp, Employment
  • Kimberly B. Gatling, Intellectual Property
  • Lisa F. Garrison, Antitrust
  • Marilyn Feuchs-Marker, Family
  • Neale T. Johnson, Construction
  • Patti W. Ramseur, Employment
  • Richard A. Coughlin, Intellectual Property
  • Robert D. Kidwell, Business
  • William E. Burton III, Bankruptcy
  • Larry B. Sitton, Antitrust (Hall of Fame)
  • Stephen W. Earp, Environmental (Hall of Fame)
  • Ramona Cunningham O'Bryant, Environmental (Hall of Fame)


  • Matthew Nis Leerberg, Young Guns (Best Under 40)
  • Stephen W. Petersen, Criminal
  • Theodore C. Edwards II, Construction
  • George J. Oliver, Employment (Hall of Fame)
  • David M. Krasnow, Intellectual Property (Hall of Fame)


  • David G. Martin, Real Estate
  • Jill Raspet, Tax and Estate Planning

For more information about Business North Carolina's 2014 Legal Elite listings, visit

Heather Olson


Each of our lawyer's e-mail address is provided with his or her biography. If you are not a current client of our firm, you should not e-mail our lawyers with any confidential information or any information about a specific legal matter, given that our firm may presently represent persons or companies who have interests that are adverse to you. If you are not a current client and you e-mail any lawyer in our firm, you do so without any expectation of confidentiality. We will not establish a professional relationship with you via e-mail. Instead, you should contact our firm by telephone so that we can determine whether we are in a position to consult with you about any legal matters before you share any confidential or sensitive information with us.